General Info

Valenzuela City, which has a land area of approximately 45 square kilometers, is primarily a residential and industrial suburb with about 500,000 residents. The population has increased significantly ever since it attained cityhood in 1998.

It is bordered by the following:

Quezon City and northern Caloocan City – east

Malabon City and southern Caloocan City – south

Obando, Bulacan – west

Meycauayan City, Bulacan – north


The name Vaenzuela translates to “little Valencia” in Spanish. The city was first known as Polo, a part of the town called Catangalan, which is now Meycauayan. It was originally established as an independent town of Bulacan. It was the Franciscans, led by Fr. Juan Taranco, who served as the administrators of the town.

It was only in July 1960 that Valenzuela was made into a municipality under Executive Order No. 401. President Diosdado Macapagal issued this in honor of Dr. Pio Valenzuela, who was one of the leaders of the Katipunan which started the revolution against Spain. Polo and Valenzuela was first separated and given its own set of barangays. After several years, the local government decided to combine the two towns instead. The president signed Executive Order No. 46 to unify the towns of Polo and Valenzuela, and adopt the former’s name to honor Dr. Valenzuela.

During the Marcos Administration, the municipality of Valenzuela was later separated from the province of Bulacan. It was under the administration of President Fidel Ramos that Valenzuela became a highly urbanized city under Republic Act No. 8526. It became 83rd city in the Republic of the Philippines.

Districts and Barangays of Valenzuela

The city has 32 barangays grouped into two congressional districts.

District 1

  • Arkong Bato
  • Balangkas
  • Bignay
  • Bisig
  • Canumay
  • Coloong
  • Dalandanan
  • Isla
  • Lawang Bato
  • Lingunan
  • Mabolo
  • Malanday
  • Malinta
  • Palasan
  • Pariancillo Villa
  • Pasolo
  • Poblacion
  • Polo
  • Punturin
  • Rincon
  • Tagalag
  • Veinte Reales
  • Wawang Pulo

District 2

  • Gen. T. De Leon
  • Karuhatan
  • Bagbaguin
  • Mapulang Lupa
  • Marulas
  • Maysan
  • Parada
  • Paso de Blas
  • Ugong

Business and Tourism

Valenzuela City is traversed by two major highways, the MacArthur Highway and the North Luzon Expressway. This makes the city a northern gateway to Metro Manila and a prime location for residential and commercial establishments. The establishment of shopping centers such as SM Supercenter Valenzuela and South Supermarket has made it easier for residents, who used to head to the malls in Quezon City and Manila, to do their shopping and recreation.

The city is also known for its numerous feasts and festivals, the notable ones being the Feast of the San Diego De Alcala (November 12) and the Sta. Cruz Festival (April 26).

City Officials

Mayor: Sherwin T. Gatchalian

Vice Mayor: Eric M. Martinez

Contact Us