Pasig City

General Info

Formerly the capital of the province of Rizal, the City of Pasig is situated along Metro Manila’s eastern border. It is bordered by the following:
Quezon City and Mandaluyong City – west
Marikina City – north
Makati City, Taguig City and Pateros – south
Municipality of Cainta – east

History of Pasig

The original Pasig territory extended all the way to Montalban to the north and Bai in the south. The earliest settlers in the area were called Remontados, which was derived from the Spanish verb remontar, which means to “flee from the hills.” The remontados were said to be descended from lowlanders who preferred to stay in the mountains to avoid dealing with the Spaniards who came to the city.

Pasig was incorporated into Rizal and was declared its capital when the latter was made into a province on June 11, 1901. In 1975, Pasig was removed out of the jurisdiction of Rizal and became part of Metro Manila through Presidential Decree 824.

The city became a highly urbanized city in July 1994 through Republic Act 7829.

Pasig Universities:

Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Pasig
University of Asia and the Pacific

Districts and Barangays of Pasig

There are two districts and 30 barangays in Pasig.

District 1 Barangays

  • Bagong Ilog
  • Bagong Katipunan
  • Bambang
  • Buting
  • Caniogan
  • Kalawaan SUR
  • Kapasigan
  • Kapitolyo
  • Malinao
  • Oranbo
  • Palatiw
  • Pineda
  • Sagad
  • San Antonio
  • San Joaquin
  • San Jose
  • San Nicolas (Poblacion)
  • San Miguel
  • Santa Cruz
  • Santa Rosa
  • Santo Tomas
  • Sumilang *
  • Ugong

District 2 Barangays

  • Dela Paz
  • Manggahan
  • Maybunga
  • Pinagbuhatan
  • Rosario
  • Santa Lucia
  • Santolan
Business and Tourism

With the eastern half of Ortigas Center on its territory, Pasig is one of the country’s premiere business and commercial areas. Some of the metro’s most popular shopping malls (SM Megamall and Robinson’s Galleria) are located here, as well as several important offices such as the headquarters of the Integrated Bar of the Philippines, head offices of Meralco and the headquarters of the Philippine Stock Exchange. The Ortigas area is also famous for its nightlife, with people flocking to Metrowalk and Depot Area for dining and clubbing.

City Officials

Mayor: Robert Eusebio (2007 – present)
Vice Mayor: Rosalio “Yoyong” Martirez (2004 – present)

Contact Us