Nonoy Baclao Wins Coveted Championsip MVP

With the Blue Eagle’s sweep of the UAAP Season 71 championsip, Ateneo’s Nonoy Baclao won the coveted championship Most Valuable Player (MVP) award. Baclao’s award is a rarity for it is not usual for MVP’s to be given to a defensive player. His dominance of the court, however, left no doubt to his prowess as the best player of the pressure packed finals. With that win, Baclao will be a name to watch for he will still be playing in the next UAAP season.

Other awardees include teammates Rabeh al-Hussaini who was earlier awarded as the entire season’s MVP. Al-Hussaini and outgoing Ateneo veteran Chris Tiu were both named to the All-UAAP team together with La Salle's Rico Maierhofer and JV Casio and UST's Jervy Cruz, the MVP last year.

Ateneo freshman phenom Ryan Buenafe, was awarded the Rookie of the Year.

Related: Ateneo wins the UAAP Season 71 championship

Contact Us