Malabon City

Malabon City General Info

Malabon is more than just about the delicious pancit that the town is famous for. The city possesses a rich history, being an important literary center of the revolutionarios during the Spanish colonization period. It was here in Asilo de Huertanos that the newspaper La Independencia was printed. It was also the place used to house the orphans of the plague of 1882.

The city is also famous for the Malabon Zoo, one of the most well-kept conservatory of exotic animals in the country. Malabon is also one of the leading manufacturers of patis and ilang-ilang flower extracts.

Malabon is part of CAMANAVA, a sub-region in Metro Manila which also includes

Caloocan, Navotas and Valenzuela. The city is bordered by the following:

Caloocan – south and east

Navotas – west

Valenzuela – north

The city is also in the border of Obando, Bulacan.

History of Malabon

According to legend, the name Malabon originated from the phrase “maraming labong,” which means “plenty of labong“(edible bamboo shoots). First known as the town of Tambobong, it was under the jurisidiction of Tondo from 1627 to 1688. It was made into a municipality of Rizal province on June 1901, and was later merged with Navotas. In January 1906, Malabon was separated from Navotas and made into a distinct municipality of Rizal. After 70 years, Malabon became a part of the National Capital Region under Presidential Decree No. 824. In April 2001, Malabon officially became a city under Republic Act 9019.

Schools in Malabon-Navotas:

    * Bright Future for Kids Learning Center
    * Christian Academy of Malabon, Inc.
    * Dalubhasaang Epifanio Delos Santos
    * De La Salle-Araneta University
    * Divine Child School of Malabon, Inc.
    * Eliza Esguerra High School
    * Epifanio Delo Santos High School
    * E R G Memorial College
    * Gregorio Araneta University Foundation High School
    * Homeschooled in Malabon District
    * Immaculate Conception Parochial School
    * Immaculate Heart of Mary School
    * Immanuel Lutheran School
    * International Baptist Academy
    * Jose Rizal High School
    * La Humildad Kindergarten School
    * La Purisima Concepcion Academy of Malabon
    * Malabo
    * Malabon Central Institute
    * Malabon Central United Methodist Church
    * Malabon National Highshool (Main- Hulong Duhat)
    * Malabon NHS
    * Malabon NHS РTa̱ong Annex
    * Maranatha Children's Development Center
    * MFCBC Christian Academy, Inc.
    * Panghulo National High School
    * Panghulo NHS
    * Phil. Buddhist Seng Guan Memorial Institute
    * Philippine Malabon Cultural Institute
    * Potrero National High School
    * Potrero NHS
    * Precious Lamb Foundational Learning Center, Inc.
    * Sacred Heart School
    * Salvador Araneta Memorial School
    * San Agustin Baranggay Hgih School
    * Sanciangco High School
    * Shining Star Model Center
    * SME Child Development Center, Inc.
    * St. Fourier Child Development Center
    * St James Academy
    * St. James Academy
    * St. Michael Learning Center
    * St. Therese of the Child Jesus Academy
    * The Potter and the Clay Christian School
    * Tinajeros NHS
    * Tugatog NHS


There are 21 barangays in Malabon:

  • Acacia
  • Baritan
  • Bayan-bayanan
  • Catmon
  • Concepcion
  • Dampalit
  • Flores
  • Hulong Duhat
  • Ibaba
  • Longos
  • Maysilo
  • Muzon
  • Niugan
  • Panghulo
  • Potrero
  • San Agustin
  • Santolan
  • Tañong
  • Tinajeros
  • Tonsuya
  • Tugatog

Business and Tourism

Malabon City is known for its numerous culinary delights, especially the very famous Pancit Malabon. The city counts puto sulot, bibingka  and sapin-sapin among its specialties.

The city is also a must-see for those who love to see heritage houses. Malabon is home to a number of old, well-preserved ancestral homes, including the Dionisio family home and the Roxas-Borja house.

Malabon City Officials

Mayor: Canuto Senen-Oreta

Vice Mayor: Arnold Vicencion

Next Update: Road Map of Malabon

Contact Us